The City of Absurdity   Bue Velvet
Film Data

  David Lynch, Laura Dern, Kyle MacLachlan Cast
Other Crew
Other Data


Isabella Rossellini: Dorothy Vallens
Kyle MacLachlan: Jeffrey Beaumont
Dennis Hopper: Frank Booth
Laura Dern: Sandy Williams

Hope Lange: Mrs. Williams
Dean Stockwell: Ben
George Dickerson: Detective Williams
Priscilla Pointer: Mrs. Beaumont
Jack Harvey: Tom Beaumont
Frances Bay: Aunt Barbara
Ken Stovitz: Mike
Brad Dourif: Raymond
Jack Nance: Paul
J. Michael Hunter: Hunter
Dick Green: Don Vallens
Fred Pickler: Yellow Man
Philip Markert: Dr. Gynde
Leonard Watkins: Double Ed
Moses Gibson: Double Ed
Selden Smith: Nurse Cindy
Peter Carew: Coroner
Jon Jon Snipes: Little Donny
Angelo Badalamenti: Piano Player
Jean-Pierre Viale: Master of Ceremonies
Donald Moore: Desk Sergeant
A. Michelle Depland: Party Girl
Michelle Sasser: Party Girl
Katie Reid: Party Girl



A Dino De Laurentiis Entertainment Group Production

Produced by Fred C. Caruso
Executive Producer Richard A. Roth

Written and Directed by David Lynch

Cinematography by Frederick Elmes
Music by Angelo Badalamenti
Edited by Duwayne Dunham
Production Design by Patricia Norris
Costume Design by Gloria Laughride


  Other Crew

Mark Adler: music editor
Fred C. Caruso: production manager
Catherine Davis: assistant to production designer
Chrissie Davis: production co-ordinator
assistant production co-ordinator
Pat Golden: casting
Jeff Goodwin: make-up artist
Dean Jones: special make-up effects
Michael Katz: gaffer
Dan Kneece: steadicam Operator uncredited
Ann Kroeber: production sound mixer
Richard Langdon: stunt co-ordinator
Edward 'Tantar' LeViseur: set decorator
Les Pendleton: construction coordinator
Ellen Rauch: first assistant director
Johanna Ray: casting
Alan Splet: sound designer
Ian Foster Woolf: second assistant director


  Other Data

35 mm CinemaScope, Ratio 1:2,35 Technicolor, Dolby Stereo

Running Time: 120 minutes
Budget: $US 5 000 000
Location: Wilmington, NC


Academy Awards - Nomination
Best Direction - David Lynch

Los Angeles Film Critics - Winner
Best Direction - David Lynch
Best Supporting Actor - Dennis Hopper

National Society of Film Critics - Winner
Best Picture - BLUE VELVET
Best Direction - David Lynch
Best Supporting Actor - Dennis Hopper
Cinematography - Frederick Elmes

back top

Blue Velvet | David Lynch main page
© Mike Hartmann